Banana Republic Fall 2010

BR Men

Life at Work is the title of Banana Republic’s fall campaign. The print piece that managed to capture my attention as I was rummaging through my mail, tells quite a compelling story—a witty challenge to the work wardrobe and making it “work for your life.” From photography to typography, the mailing is sheer eye candy. I must note the most handsome contrast between the very apparent Baskerville and a palatable, but assertively bold sans serif (my suspicion, a subtle variation of Avenir).

BR Men Cardigan

BR WomenFlirting with the Fall season that’s yet to arrive, the piece speaks of a culture where everyday normal people exude cool. Think grays, camels, suede, cardigans, denim, MacAlister boots, costume jewelry and lots of sprezzatura. This is the new Banana Republic and I love it. Now if only they carried x-smalls in their men’s section that were small enough to fit little men like myself.

There’s a great story that Banana Republic is unfolding with their clothes this fall. It’s fresh, relevant and has me itching for mother nature to put away this intense summer we’ve been having.

Leave a Reply

