Black Mission Figs + Strained Yogurt

Figs

Like basil, Black Mission figs are one of summer’s most redeeming moments. When eaten they somehow manage to hush that unbearable humidity that blankets New York City. As a child summering in the Middle East, eating figs was a staple tradition. One of my aunts had a massive tree which bore the fruit all summer long. As an avid strained yogurt eater, I find the thickness reminiscent of the homemade yogurt my mom used to make. The combination made for a nostalgic and jubilantly delicious experience.

On a few hasty whims I’ve managed to purchase a flavored kind when I simply wanted plain, and regular when I really wanted non-fat. The latter scenario turned out to be quite a divine surprise. The discovery took place early one morning before I had even made my coffee. In spirit of a healthy, but quick breakfast I opened my yogurt and dug in. Almost instantly, I was shocked, surprised, delighted and confused, all at the same time. This is sort of like when you have a regular soda when you’re used to the alternatively sweetened kind. Instead of eating it on the spot for breakfast, I treated it like ice-cream, reserved for a treat. In fact, the flavor made me think more of Panna Cotta than anything else. I suspect this might be an interesting alternative to the heavy cream that the Italian dessert employs. For a luxurious treat, split open a couple of figs and add a dollop of strained yogurt. You can also add a drizzle of honey or agave nectar for extra sweetness.

© 2011 Faris Habayeb
Leave a Reply

